Ruler of Books tag

Hello, everyone! I thought we’d switch it up today by talking about books. I love books and will no doubt be talking quite a bit about them in the future. I also love Booktube, which is the section of Youtube dedicated to discussing, sharing, and just generally being enthusiastic about books. I have many favorite book Youtubers that I like to watch and they have tag videos, in which they answer different questions. One of them came out recently that I knew I wanted to do (I’ll put the original video down below). It’s the Ruler of Books tag. So here it is!

1. What book would you make everyone read?

I would have to say The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine. This isn’t my favorite book but it’s definitely one of my favorites. It’s such a beautiful story full of memorable characters that grow and change so much throughout the story. It’s also an incredible tale of courage during adversity. It’s helped me so much throughout different times in my life and I think the world would be a better place if everyone read that story.

2. What would you abolish in book construction?

Honestly, this is a difficult one. I’ve been fixing books as part of my library jobs for a year and half now and I can honestly say that there are very few elements in book construction that are not there on purpose. However, I would like to abolish the idea of putting something over the description on the back of the book. Every time I see this at a book store or a library, I internally cringe. So yeah, let’s abolish that. Freedom from the tyranny of labels!

3. What author would you commission to write you any book?

Again, this is so hard! But I’ve managed to narrow this down to three way tie between Juliet Marillier, Ruta Sepetys, and Jennifer Donnelly. These three ladies, though they write in different genres and with different styles, all have the beautiful ability to combine fascinating, round characters, beautifully described settings, and compelling plots. Though if I was forced to pick, it would be Jennifer Donnelly.

Jennifer Donnelly

This is a quote from possibly my favorite Jennifer Donnelly book, Revolution, which is about a two girls living through two revolutions and are connected through love of music. Photo attributed to:yalitquotes.tumblr.com

4. What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

Probably cook books. Not all of them, of course. While I understand that there are thousands upon thousands of types of cuisine and ways to cook said cuisine, but I just don’t understand why there need to be so many cook books. So, sorry, but they’re getting bumped. Also the House of Night series. I read up through Awakened  in that series (my friends insisted I read them). Those books aren’t that good, plain and simple. So they’re getting demoted,too.

5. What cover artist would you commission to make a mural?

Kinuko Y. Craft, who designed the fabulous cover for Juliet Marillier’s first young adult novel, Wildwood Dancing.  It’s so gorgeous and there’s so much to look at and the colors are so beautiful and OH MY GOODNESS, JUST LOOK AT THIS BEAUTY!

Wildwood.jpg

As you can probably tell from this choice, I’m a big fan of the pre-Raphaelite style, which Craft emulates here. Photo credited to: goodreads.com.

6. What characters face would you put on a coin?

I’d have to say Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows. Simply because I think he’d like that idea.

Kaz quote

One of the more interesting quotes of Kaz’s. Photo credited to: pinterest.com

7. What book would you award the “Ruler of Books” 2016 Prize to?

I would have to say Leigh Bardugo, author of the aforementioned Six of Crows. I checked Six of Crows out of the library and, though I didn’t quite understand the story at first, quickly fell in love with all the characters and the setting. I’m about halfway through the Grisha Trilogy, which she wrote before Six of Crows and am loving it. Bardugo has a gift for establishing varied settings and for creating interesting, flawed characters. I am eagerly awaiting the publication of Crooked Kingdom at the end of September. If you haven’t read anything by Leigh Bardugo, you should definitely check her out.

So I hope you enjoyed this little foray into the world of tag posts. This was fun and I’ll probably do more of these in the future. What would your answers be to these puzzling questions? Do let me know! The original video is down below. Have a wonderful day and for those of you who have already read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I hope you enjoyed it and no spoilers!

One thought on “Ruler of Books tag

  1. Pingback: Four-sentence book reviews #2 | entwinedinpages

Leave a Reply

