How I feel about the election

I should be an informed citizen

but I don’t want to be locked in an asylum

I should definitely do my taxes

yet no one taught me how to file ’em.

They want me to pick a side

but my beliefs aren’t right or left

they’re children squabbling in a sandbox

while Lady Liberty looks on, bereft.

They want to lock the country’s doors.

Our pristine shores don’t need foreign mud

yet those who scream for this the loudest

have so much Europe in their blood.

It’s all done for me, part of the future, they claim,

all done for democracy.

Then how come I can’t help but feel

these politicians have forced so hatred much on me?

Leave a Reply

