An apology/Loneliness and Sociability

Hi there. I’m incredibly sorry that I missed an entire week of poetry blogging. But life, as it usually does, got in the way. My mother had to go to the hospital (she’s home and well now, thank goodness). I’ve also been preparing for my first attempt at National Novel Writing Month (more on that to come) and have been working on different pieces for the websites I write for. In addition to all of that, I just have been exhausted and not wanting to do much of anything. The last one is a paltry excuse, I know, but sometimes you just need a break. Anywho, I’m back now and I will be posting more poetry in November to make up for the lost time. Without any further ado, here’s today’s poem, “Loneliness and Sociability.”

Loneliness is an old man,

craggy faced and frowning,

wistfulness always in his eyes.

He haunts in corners,

and stalks the alleyways,

watching the cats scrounge for scraps

in the light of the October half moon.

He thrives on paths untrod,

seeking nooks never found in which to hide

until it is time to move again.

Sociability is a bright, young thing,

her smile dazzling even the stars,

her laughter enchanting all.

Once you are in her presence, you

are hooked, unable to be left.

You and she hit the clubs,

dancing to the music in a swirl of gossip, smiles

and vibrantly colored skirts.

One day, on a park bench off the beaten track,

while Sociability was tying on her dancing shoes,

Loneliness walked by, gazed at her sweet form

and observed her vivaciousness.

Hesitating, he perched next to her on the bench,

barely looking her in the eye

as he made the request that had long lived in his heart:

“Let’s coexist.”

 

Here’s a quick story about this poem. I briefly belonged to a writing group in college and this was the only poem I ever brought in to be workshopped. The people in that group, especially the leader, were notoriously picky and this was the only time I ever heard him say that something didn’t need to be completely overhauled in order to be made better. I still am ridiculously proud of this poem as a result of that. I hope you’re all doing well and that you’ve enjoyed reading! Bye!

Leave a Reply

