Ten first sentences story challenge

Hello to one and all! So I came up with a challenge idea that’s probably been done before, but what the heck, let’s do it anyway! As the title of this post implies, the challenge I thought of is simple: create a story with the first sentences of books. Feel free to use any books you like, but I’m choosing to use books that I either have read, am currently reading, or want to read. So don’t take the books I use as a formula, go crazy with your own creations! Let’s go.

“This is a story about something that happened long ago when your grandfather was a child. To begin with the rigmarole of childhood. Pippin looked out from the shelter of Gandalf’s cloak.  It was a very distinct sound, the quite scraping of steel on stone, that first told him that his visitors had arrived, followed by a strange sort of tapping and the shuffling of feet. Autumn had come too swiftly.

I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen. Those who can, do. They’re out there. True!-nervous-very, very dreadfully nervous I had been and am! It’s finished.”

Whew! That was more difficult than I thought it would be, but I’m so pleased with the result! Feel free to take on this challenge yourself and let me know how it goes! To keep copyright and attributions straight, here are the books I borrowed from, in order: The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis, Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell, The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien, Here there be Dragons by James A. Owens, The Black Cauldron by Lloyd Alexander, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey, The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe, and To Stay Alive: Mary Ann Graves and the Tragic Journey of the Donner Party by Skila Brown.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this experiment! God bless!

Leave a Reply

